Walnut Pesto

IMG_1476

I need to do a pesto recipe before the end of summer….sob.  The leaves have started to turn already in Northern BC and it’s making me half sad and half excited for autumn vegetables and fruits!

Throughout the summer I’ve been getting local food boxes that are filled with all sorts of local goodies.  I do a fist pump when I get a big bag of basil!  I LOVE local food and I LOVE pesto.  It’s chocked full of flavour and adds pizzazz to tons of different foods.  Or you could just eat it with a spoon.  We may have done that…..ahem…

Pesto is usually made with pine nuts…but pine nuts are expensive!  So a nice alternative that you probably have in your pantry already are walnuts!

Pesto can be whipped up in your food processor in about 3 minutes.  Grab some basil and zip up some today!

My neighbor has a big pot of it on her deck – I’m going to swap her some tomorrow for rosemary from my planter and slather it to some lentil patties.  Yay for neighbours!

Ingredients:

1 cup washed packed basil (really pack it in)

1/4 cup walnuts

1/4 cup good quality olive oil

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese

Juice of 1/2 lemon

Dash teaspoon salt

Dash of freshly ground pepper

Directions:

1. Chop up garlic, add to food processor.  Wash basil, remove stems and add into food processor.

2. Add remaining ingredients.  Process until smooth.

IMG_1478

Leave a Reply

