Whole Grain Buckwheat Pancakes (Naturally gluten free)

IMG_1344

I haven’t made buckwheat pancakes for AGES!  Why did I wait so long, I do not know.  I just received an order of a bunch a gluten free flours, including buckwheat flour.  Despite the name, buckwheat is actually gluten free.  It’s actually not a grain but a grass!

What I love about buckwheat flour, aside from the nutritional benefits, is that you seem to be able to use it in the same way as flour.  I can make buckwheat muffins and buckwheat pancakes without having to use other flours or starches to make the texture or flavour acceptable.

Do you have berries glore?  I sure do, since it’s that time of year.  Hubby and I recently went berry picking and got 14 cups of saskatoon berries in only an hour!  I love free food.

I adapted the recipe from the Simple Veganista.  I also used her recipe for delicious maple nut butter syrup!  Nutritious food sure can be nutritious!

Oh and did I mention they were chocolate pancakes?  🙂

Waffles

  • 1 1/2 cups buckwheat flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups unsweetened almond milk, or milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup light flavored olive oil or coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla, optional

Maple Nut Butter Syrup (serves 2)

  • 4 tablespoons almond or nut butter of choice
  • 4 tablespoons pure maple syrup
  • 2 tablespoons water + more as needed

Directions

1. Mix your nut butter syrup. Combine ingredients in a small bowl and stir until smooth. For thinner syrup use more water. Set aside.
2. In medium size bowl, combine the flour, cocoa, sugar, baking powder, salt. Add nut milk, oil and vanilla, mix until combined.
3. Pour batter (about 1/3 cup per pancake) onto preheated skillet, cook until bubbles for one the first side and until the pancake is set on the second side. Keep waffles warm in a preheated oven at 200 degrees F., keep waffles on a cookie sheet until all waffles are ready.
Serve with the maple nut butter syrup and fresh berries!
 
Notes:
If using coconut oil, be sure to warm the milk or use room temp milk. Cold milk will solidify the coconut oil making it lumpy. For best results, warm the milk and coconut oil together.
2 thoughts on “Whole Grain Buckwheat Pancakes (Naturally gluten free)

  1. I use a lot of buckwheat flour too. It does have a definite strong flavor though. I like the flavor, but I sometimes lighten it up a bit with half brown rice flour, especially if we are having company.

Leave a Reply

