Magical Green Sauce


IMG_1476

This is pretty magical sauce.  I’ve been spreading it on most things that I’ve eaten for the past three days.  It’s so bright and flavourful that it really wakes up your meal!

It has cilantro in it.  I know, I know….a lot of you have a hateful relationship with cilantro.  I, in fact, just had a heated debate with a co-worker about the culinary usefulness of cilantro the other day.  I realize that if you are on the anti-cilantro train, it’s hard to convince you otherwise!  But seriously this sauce wasn’t overwhelmingly “cilantro-y” at all.  In fact it just tastes green and has a nice acidic flavour to it.  If you’re on the fence about cilantro, give this a whirl, you may be surprised.

In my local food box the other day I happened to end up with two big bunches of organic cilantro.  What to do with it?  Well I ended up freezing a bunch of it in ice cube trays with a bit of water….but the rest of it I used in making this sauce.  Now I wish I hadn’t froze it, then I could make MORE sauce!

I’ve been slathering it on my salads and veggie patties.  The original recipe I based this off was for it to top a Southwestern Chopped Salad from The Garden Grazer.  Looked tasty!

IMG_1478

Ingredients:

1 cup of cilantro leaves, washed, steams removed

Juice of 1/2 lime or about 2 tbsp (more to taste)

1/2 cup of soaked cashews + 2 tbsp water OR 1/2 avocado

1/4 cup olive or grape seed oil

2 tbsp maple syrup or honey

1 tbsp white or red wine vinegar

2 cloves of garlic, roughly chopped

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Add ingredients into a food processor or blender and blend until smooth and creamy.

2. Taste and adjust ingredients to suit your taste.

Use as salad dressing, on sandwiches, burgers or sauce.

IMG_1480

Leave a Reply

