Oatmeal raisin muffins (GF or regular)

IMG_0216

Amy:

Well I decided to give gluten free baking another crack.  I guess it’s the change of the seasons that is making me feel like nesting and stocking baked goods to the freezer.  I probably have not baking a batch of muffins for over a year.  Crazy considering I used to bake them every week back when we could have wheat flour in the house.

I decided to start slow and easy with the most “normal” type flours that I could do.  The result were good muffins!  All I did was adapt a recipe from of my “go to” recipe books called More with Less.  I swapped out the flour for oat bran, potato flour and brown rice flour but a regular gluten free flour blend would do. I also changed the toppings from a cinnamon and brown sugar to a coconut and brown sugar variety to suit the taste buds in my household.

Ingredients for 12 muffins:

     Dry ingredients

1/3 cup oat bran

2/3 cup flour – either wheat or gluten free blend

1 cup rolled oats

1/4 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup raisins

      Wet ingredients

3 tbsp oil

1 egg, beaten or flax egg

1 cup milk or milk alternative

     Topping

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tsp coconut

1 tsp melted margarine or butter

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 F.

2. Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl.

3. Beat together the wet ingredients in a small bowl.

4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir only until just moistened. Fill muffin cups until 3/4 full.

5. Mix together topping ingredients in a small bowl.  Divide over top of muffin cups.

6. Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes.  Remove from tins to cool on baking rack.

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal raisin muffins (GF or regular)

  1. Looks great Amy! I am starting to realize that there is endless possibilities to an all purpose gluten free flour blend. Of course there is the standard “white” mixes of starches and rice flours, but as mentioned before, just think of the glycemic load. It just can’t be good for anyone long-term. I’ve now been experimenting with blends that use quinoa flour, millet flour, buckwheat, oat bran/oat flour. I think there needs to be more recipes for the gluten free community using non-starchy refined flours and more of the whole grain flours. So far my trick has been to add either the gums, or ground flax or ground chia seed. They work pretty good to replace the stretchiness of gluten in baking. Good luck, love seeing your recipes!

    1. Yes for sure there is definitely room for improvement on the nutrition end of gluten free baking! Keep me posted on your experiments too! I’m feeling more motivated to do more now. Stay tuned for an all oat cookie recipe….no flours needed 🙂 and do you have a rule of thumb for how much flax or chia you add? I’ve never ground my chia I’ll have to try that out!

Leave a Reply

