Rawsome Green Dragon Chili!

IMG_9077

Amy:

As you may have noticed I’ve been getting interested in “raw foods” – using plants in their natural, unprocessed state!  It’s been pretty fun and I can’t believe how vibrant and intense some of the flavours can be!  In rooting through some of the food blogs I  have discovered that you can make raw chili!  I was completely blown away that this kind of thing could be done without meat and beans!!!   There sure are a lot of creative people out there.  I chopped and whipped it up with my food processor and to my pleasant surprise it was a delicious vegetarian chili!

One thing that I will tell you about with this recipe is that you NEED to wear gloves when handling the jalapeno pepper!  I didn’t and suffered the consequences of a terrible burning thumb for two days afterwards and anything that came into contact with my thumb….like eyes…

Original recipe was from http://www.rawveganista.com/2012/11/reddragonchili/ entitled Red Dragon Chili.  I didn’t make it nearly that spicy so I called it Green Dragon Chili instead and added in some vegetables that I would normally add to chili.

“Gravy base”

  • ⅓ C sun dried tomatoes (soaked in spring water)
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1  large jalapeño pepper
  • Dash cayenne pepper
  • Dash chipotle pepper
  • 1 clove fresh garlic (or powder)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • several sprigs of fresh cilantro or parsley
  • 1 Tbsp cumin
  • 2 scallions (tiny onions) or about 3 tbsp red onion
  • juice of ½ a lemon
  • Water from soaked tomatoes (add in to consistency)

 Blend all ingredients together in a high speed blender or food processor (I used the food processor) until smooth and slightly thick.

Plant-based protein = seed “meat” mixture

  • 1/2 C raw hemp seeds
  • 1/2 C raw sunflower seeds (hulled)
  • 5 Tbsp nutritional yeast flakes (optional)
  • ½ large jalapeño
  • 1 scallion
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • ½  tsp granulated garlic (optional)
  • Several sprigs of fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1 medium sized zucchini, diced
  • 1 orange sweet pepper, seeded and diced
  • 1 1/2 tsp olive oil

Blend these ingredients together in a food processor.  Don’t over process so that it still keeps it’s texture.

Mix the sauce and the texture parts together in a bowl.

Add chopped tomatoes, avocado, cashew cream and/or some fresh cilantro as a garnish!  I prefer it at room temperature not cold so I heat it up gently before eating, but that’s up to you!  Mmmmmh, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

