Maple dijon glazed salmon

Maple Dijon Glazed Salmon

IMG_7929

Well it’s been a while since I’ve lasted blogged.  It’s been a busy few months of travelling, moving, settling and starting a new job in a different part of Canada!  Since I now live close to the West coast of Canada my hubby and I have embraced the deliciousness that is Pacific Salmon.  It’s unreal.  I can’t believe I’ve been missing out all these years.  The first meal we cooked in our new place was a huge, deep red fillet of salmon.  I wasn’t sure how to cook it properly so upon googling how to do I came across Chef Michael Smith’s recipe (he’s one of my heroes by the way).  It was so simple and sounded so tasty I had to try it out!  And boy, am I glad I did!  I make this recipe every week….okay, sometimes twice a week….

And remember the key to good tasting fish is:

a) Make sure it’s fresh, cook it the same day you buy it or thaw in the fridge overnight and cook the next day.

b) Don’t overcook the fish or it gets dry and tough about 15 minutes is all it takes depending on how thick it is.  Cook until it flakes apart with a fork and is fairly firm in the middle.

Ingredients:

1 fillet of salmon or frozen pieces of plain, unprocessed salmon

1 tsp of dijon mustard (grainy, smooth or a mixture)

1 tsp of maple syrup

Salt and pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet or dish with parchment paper (for easy clean up).  Rinse off fish with water.

2. Mix together mustard and maple syrup in a bowl.  Spread on top of the salmon, sprinkle with a little salt and fresh ground pepper!  If you have time to let it marinade, go for it…

3. Bake in a preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes or until flakey but not tough!

2 thoughts on “Maple dijon glazed salmon

Leave a Reply

