Low-Sugar Mango Freezer Jam

I love jam.  But I don’t like all the sugar!   Sadly the sugar in jam is very important for allowing the jam to set properly and to prevent growth of moulds and other pathogens that can make us sick.  So – I found a recipe that uses Certo Light and I know that I HAVE to get it within a few months and keep it in the fridge.  I kept jam made with certo light in the pantry once…wasn’t pretty.  My husband brought me home a big crate of mangoes the other day!  And that was my inspiration for making jam.  I only had big jars (little jars work better) but I am in a housing transition at present and therefore I have to be flexible!

Mango Jam (Yield: 8 – 6oz jars)

Ingredients:

6 cups mango puree (about 8-10 mangoes)
1 cup filtered water
juice of 1/2 lemon
3 tbsp Low Sugar Fruit Pectin (I used Certo Light)
1 cup granulated sugar (do not reduce further)

Directions:

1. Prepare your jars and lids by sterilizing them in boiling water.

2. Add pureed fruit, water and lemon juice to a large pot and heat over a medium high. Gradually stir in the fruit pectin. Stir constantly as you bring it to a full, rolling boil.

3. Add sugar and return to a rolling boil for 1 minute. Stir constantly.

4. Turn off heat. Ladle jam into hot jars leaving 1/4 inch space at the top. Wipe rims and secure with lids and rings. Place jars into a canner and make sure they are covered by an inch or two of water. Place lid on canner and bring to a boil. Boil for 10 minutes.

5. Carefully remove jars and allow them to cool on a towel or rack. Give each jar a few inches of space and don’t fiddle with the lids for 24 hours. Then carefully check that they are sealed. Label and date jars. Keep in the fridge.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

