Potluck Worthy Wild Rice Casserole (From my Nana)

IMG_1068

This recipe is from my grandmother (Nana) – she made it at a recent family gathering and it was so tasty I had to get the recipe from her to try it out myself!  I love the taste and texture of wild rice – which is actually a grass technically – but counts as a whole grain!  It’s grown locally where I live so it’s highly prized.

I just adapted the recipe slight based on my taste preferences.

Ingredients:

1 cup wild rice
1 cup of brown rice
3 1/2 cups boiling water
3-4 tablespoons of margarine, melted or oil
1/4 cup gluten free soy sauce
2 chicken or vegetable bouillon cubes, gluten free
3 cups of fresh mushrooms or one can of mushrooms
1/2 large onion, minced
1/2 cup green peppers, minced
1/2 cup celery, minced
Season with salt and pepper as desired

Directions:

1. Rinse rices well and add to casserole dish.  Mince vegetables and add.
2. Add the remaining ingredients and pour boiling water over top. Stir well to ensure bouillon is dissolved.
3. Cover and bake at 350F for an hour and 15 minutes or until rice is tender. 
Enjoy!  A note from my Nana: It’s lovely as a warm up. : ) 
One thought on “Potluck Worthy Wild Rice Casserole (From my Nana)

Leave a Reply

