Fresh and Clean, Lemon and Green Smoothie

Fresh, Clean, Lemon & Green Smoothie

Want to amplify the health of your skin, hair and insides?  I was at a stress management workshop last week and one of the tips were some recipes that were high in folate – which helps with stress hormone regulation.  Where does folate come from?  Green and orange veggies and fruit!  Since I am already an avid spinach smoothie drinker my ears pricked up at this recipe. My husband and I are sold on this recipe because it’s really fresh and clean tasting and the lemon flavour really shines through to make it pop.  One of the best smoothies I’ve had in a while I must say!  I usually eat some oatmeal or a piece of toast with it too as it’s not substantial enough of a breakfast for me.

IMG_0423

Ingredients: (for two servings)

3 handfuls of spinach (or substitute some kale)

1/2 lemon, peeled

1/2 apple or 1 kiwi or 4 strawberries

2 tbsp chia seeds or ground flaxseed

2 tsp maple syrup

4 ice cubes

1 cup of water

IMG_0428

Directions:

Blend ingredients together in a blender and serve/drink immediately.

Ensure you blend it well enough that you don’t have chunks of spinach or kale floating around which tends to be unpleasant (you think?).

I prepare the night before – just put all the ingredients together in the blender (except for the water and ice) and it simplifies your morning!

Leave a Reply

