Coleslaw with homemade dressing

IMG_0409

My friend invited us for supper yesterday and was making shrimp and ribs.  Since I was in charge of the vegetable side dish I choose to make some good ‘ol fashioned coleslaw!  I took advantage of my brand new slicer attachment on my kitchen-aide mixer so it was a breeze grating up the cabbage and carrots : )  I also didn’t want to buy a whole container of expensive coleslaw dressing – so I just found a quick and easy coleslaw dressing online.  A nice and inexpensive side dish.

Ingredients:

4 cups of grated green cabbage

1 large carrot, grated

2 green onions, finely chopped

Dressing:

3 tbsp mayonnaise, fat reduced

1/2 tsp yellow mustard

Dash of pepper

Dash of lime juice (optional)

Directions:

1. Shred the cabbage and carrots.  Finely chop the green onions.

2. Mix dressing ingredients together.  Coat the vegetables with the dressing.

If you like your coleslaw crispy, mix just before serving.  I prefer it softened so I like to refrigerate it for at least 2 hours before serving.

Leave a Reply

