Morning Saver Baked Oatmeal

Mornings are hectic.  I get it.  I don’t always feel like making myself something to eat but I know I need to fuel my bod for the day ahead!

I love the idea of making my own yummy oatmeal that is ready to go in the morning and feeds hubby and I all week!  Plus I know exactly what is in there and I can use up all those extra bits and pieces of nuts and dried fruit I have in the pantry!  I think it turned out really well and it was like eating a piece of cake for breakfast! ….only less sweet!  If you need you can drizzle a little bit of maple syrup or honey on top.

IMG_0401

Ingredients

2 cups of steel cut oats (certified wheat free)

2-4 tbsp ground flax seed

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 cup dried fruit like cranberries, raisins, dates, etc

1 apple, sliced

1/3 cup nuts (optional)

1/2 cup frozen berries

2 cups of milk or milk substitute

2 tsp vanilla

1 large egg

Directions

1. Mix all ingredients together except for sliced apple. Grease casserole dish and pour batter into it.  Arrange sliced apples in top.

2. Bake in per-heated oven at 350F for about 35-40 minutes or until golden brown.

Reheat in the morning with a splash of milk and a drizzle of maple syrup or honey!

Leave a Reply

