New Years Black Eyed Peas

I’ve always wanted to try blacked eyed peas – especially now that I am reading The Help by Kathryn Stockett and they talk about different Southern cooking dishes.  So I googled some recipes and this was once of the recipes that had a 5 star rating….so I assumed it was good!  I found some black eyed peas at my local bulk store and they were nice and cheap – gotta love inexpensive sources of protein : )  Plus they also pack in more vitamins and minerals than meat, are low in fat and high in fibre!  And taaaaasty….a new favourite recipe.  Apparently it’s good with corn bread, but I didn’t have cornmeal so I just cooked up some rice with it and had it with a nice green salad.  Hearty and filling. Apparently it’s supposed to be good luck to eat black eyed peas on New Year’s Day in the South….guess I’m too late for that!

IMG_0389

Ingredients:

2 cups of dried black eyed peas

1 large onion

5 slices of cooked bacon

Dash of cayenne pepper

1 clove of garlic

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups of water

Directions:

1. Cook black eyed peas by bringing peas and 3 inches of water to a boil and simmer for 45 minutes until tender.

2. Add to slow cooker along with the rest of the ingredients and cook on low for 7-9 hours or until thickened.

Leave a Reply

