Colourful Roasted Root Vegetables

This is one of those recipes that I make all the time.  It’s simple yet interesting, adaptable and delicious.

Whenever I have visitors in our home, my first dinner is almost always a whole chicken in the slow cooker and oven roasted root vegetables.  That’s my stand-by meal.  I prep the chicken the night before and pre-cut the vegetables so they just need to be popped in the oven when I get home.  That way it leaves more time for visiting.

These ingredients are plentiful in the autumn season but you can get them all year round.

I love roasting vegetables because it caramelizes them and creates sweeter flavours.

Ingredients:

Use any variety of root vegetables that you like.

Carrots

Potatoes (small potatoes are great or even the multi-coloured ones look great)

Beets

Onion

Yam or sweet potato

Parsnips

Rutabaga

Turnip

Salt and pepper

Herbs and seasonings to taste

Directions:

1. Peel and cube vegetables to about 1/2 inch sized pieces.  I usually make enough to cover a very large baking sheet for 6 people.  These are also great for lunch for the week.  I make lots usually.

2. Coat vegetables with a couple tablespoons of olive oil and stir well to coat.  Seasoning with salt and pepper to taste and your choice of herbs.  I use a Tuscan seasoning mix which is my favourite.

3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Roast in preheated oven at 425F for about an hour or until browned and cooked all the way though, stirring a couple times.

Leave a Reply

