Quick and Simple (but tasty) Beet Borscht

Tabitha:

I received a pail full of beets from my grandmother’s garden on the weekend.  What better way to use beets than in a nice lovely borscht.  I had a few guests over for tea the afternoon while it was cooking and they stayed for supper – I guess it smelled good enough to convince them to stay!  Soup on a cold fall afternoon is so inviting.

I used a chicken bones from a roast chicken I had last week.  I just tossed in the remains after we had eaten all the chicken (there was still bits of meat on there).  This is a great way to make your own broth right as you are making the soup AND you are not wasting any part of the chicken.   You can also do the same with beef.  I didn’t have cabbage and I didn’t feel like running to the store – so I used sauerkraut that I had in my fridge – gave it a lovely tang!

Beet Borscht

Ingredients:

Bones from 1 chicken (I used carcass from a roast chicken)

1 red chili pepper

2 bay leaves

1/2 tsp pepper

1 medium onion

3 medium carrots, chopped

3 medium beets, peeled and chopped

3 medium potatoes, diced

1 cup sauerkraut (with juice)

Fresh dill

Plain yogurt or sour cream

Directions:

1.  Put chicken bones in stock pot and add 8 cups of water.  Add chili pepper, bay leaves and diced onion.  Bring to a boil, reduce, and simmer while covered for about one hour.

2. Chop up carrots, beets, potatoes.  Add vegetables and sauerkraut to the stock once ready.  Stir occasionally and cook until vegetables are tender.

3.  In last 15 minutes of cooking add chopped fresh dill to the soup (to your taste).  Remove chili pepper and bay leaves and chicken bones.

4. Serve with a dollop of fresh sour cream or plain yogurt.

Leave a Reply

